In 1986, a series of newspaper articles pointing to the alarming number of teenage pregnancies in Hong Kong deeply moved our co-founders to open the doors to Mother’s Choice to provide loving and non-judgmental support to young girls who have nowhere to turn to.

In almost three decades we have supported over 53,000 girls through a crisis pregnancy, but despite our impact, the need for our services is only growing.

Recent pro bono research conducted by Bain & Company makes a conservative estimate of 6,880 crisis pregnancies in Hong Kong each year, the majority of which are to single girls who are under the age of 25 years old. A 2016 from the Commission on Youth survey highlighted findings from young people (aged 12-24), where 40% acknowledged their lack of understanding about sex, 44% admitted not using birth control, with over 40% who learn about sex from pornography and the media. This limited education about sex and relationships has a significant effect on the teen crisis pregnancy rate in Hong Kong.

Book a Sexuality Education Workshop for your school!

Do you know someone who needs our help?

Refer her to Mother’s Choice by calling 2868 2022 or texting through Whatsapp at 5633 5678.

Special thanks to Youth Outreach for supporting the hotline during 22:00-09:00.

yo_logo_new

Ways we serve youth

We believe that every girl deserves love and support, no matter her circumstances. Equally, we also believe that preventing crisis pregnant starts with comprehensive sexuality education.

We serve youth in two key ways:

Our Pregnant Girls Services offers loving and non-judgmental support to pregnant teenagers. Our goal is to empower each girl with comprehensive information on all the choices available to her (parenting, adoption, termination), and to equip her to face the future of her choice. Our services include a crisis hotline, counselling, peer support, workshops and training, and residential hostel for girls needing a safe space to live during her pregnancy. We work with each girl to develop an individual development plan, including (but not limited to) rehabilitation services, educational support, housing options, and a baby plan if she chooses self-parenting or adoption.

Funded by:
trust_web_e

Our Sexuality Education Workshops aim to reduce crisis pregnancy among youth by promoting healthy behaviors, encouraging safe behaviors, and providing accurate information. Our workshops empower youth to protect themselves physically, mentally, and emotionally, with the end goal of encouraging abstinence, delaying sexual initiation, reducing the number of sexual partners, and increasing consistent contraceptive use if youth are already sexually active. We offer workshops to primary and secondary schools in Hong Kong, as well as parents, teachers, and other professionals working with youth.

Our Approach

Our approach to serving youth is characterized by:

1

Non-judgmental Support
We do not impose our own views, but rather provide bias-free support, and encourage youth to explore options for their future, based on their own values, attitudes, and beliefs.

2

Access to Information
We believe that comprehensive and accurate information is the foundation of informed decisions.

3

Empowerment
We empower youth to take charge of their lives by making their own decisions. Through our services, we provide them with the knowledge, skills, and tools needed to face the future of their choice.

The Story of K

The Story of K

For almost 30 years, Mother’s Choice has served children without families and pregnant teenagers in Hong Kong. Teenagers like 17-year-old K, who arrived at Mother’s Choice last year.

Her situation was desperate and hopeless. K was alone and angry, with no home, family or support system, and she was six-months-pregnant. Resistant at first, she felt welcomed by a House Mother who listened to her story, and a group of girls who shared their own experiences with her. She made friends, learned about all of her options regarding her pregnancy, and made the courageous decision to commit to be a mom. She was encouraged to restore her relationship with her own mother, received parenting training, and learned how to better care for herself and her son, through a variety of classes. While K works hard to finish her studies, Mother’s Choice has found a volunteer family who can love and care for her son until she is ready to provide a stable home for him.

K is equipped and empowered to face her future and provide a loving home for her son. But her story could have looked very different. With her resilience and courage, coupled with love and support from Mother’s Choice, she not only has her family, but also friends, mentors and teachers, and an adorable, chubby son who has more uncles and aunties than he can count!

1986年,一連串的新聞報道指出香港的少女意外懷孕的數字已達驚人的程度,我們的創辦人得悉後深感難過,驅使他們成立「母親的抉擇」,為孤獨無援的少女提供不帶批判的關愛及支持。

踏入三十週年,我們已經改寫了超過51,000個意外懷孕少女的生命。即使如此,社會對我們的服務需求依然日益漸增。

最近,國際性顧問機構貝恩咨詢公司 (Bain & Company) 保守估計,香港每年七千宗意外懷孕個案當中,大部份是 25 歲以下的單身少女。另外,一份由青年事務委員會於 2016 年進行的問卷調查報告指出,40% 的受訪青少年 (年齡介乎12至24歲) 認同他們的性知識貧乏,77% 表示他們從未跟父母談及性的話題,超過40% 表示他們的性知識來源主要為色情影片。香港缺乏足夠的性教育,對少女意外懷孕的數字有深遠的影響。

請即預約我們的性通識工作坊!

你有朋友需要我們幫忙嗎?

請致電2868 2022聯絡我們。

我們如何服務青少年

我們相信不論在任何情況下,每個少女都應該得到愛護和支持。同樣地,我們亦相信減少少女意外懷孕的數字應由全面的性通識教育開始。

我們的青少年服務主要為兩方面:

意外懷孕支援服務為懷孕少女提供不帶批判的關愛及支援。我們的目標是與每個懷孕少女分享全面的資訊,讓她們清楚她們的三個選擇,包括親自撫養、交人領養及終止懷孕,並針對她們的選擇作出支援,陪同她們面對未來。我們的服務包括求助熱線、輔導、朋輩陪伴、工作坊及培訓,和為有需要的少女提供住宿服務。我們為每個少女度身訂造發展計劃,包括康復服務、教育支援、房屋援助,如果少女決定親自撫養或交人領養,我們還會為嬰孩訂造成長計劃。
性通識教育工作坊旨在透過宣揚健康的生活、鼓勵青少年保持身心安全及向青少年提供正確的資訊,減少少女意外懷孕的個案。我們的工作坊讓青少年學習保護自己的身心及情緒健康,最終目標為提倡性節制、延遲第一次性行為、減少性伴侶,以及鼓勵已開始性行為的青少年持續採取避孕措施。我們為香港的中小學學生、家長、教師及其他青少年工作者舉辦工作坊。

我們的方法

我們的青少年服務的特點:

1

不帶批判的支援
我們為少女提供中立、不帶偏見的支援,並鼓勵青少年因應自己的價值觀、想法及信念,為未來探索更多可能性。

2

全面的資訊
我們相信全面及正確的資訊能讓少女作出一個深思熟慮的選擇。

3

賦予力量
我們讓青少年作出自己的決定,鼓勵他們掌控自己的人生。我們透過服務為青少年提供知識、技能及工具,以助他們面對他們選擇的未來。

K的故事

The Story of K

「母親的抉擇」服務沒有家庭的孩子及意外懷孕少女已經接近30載。17歲的阿K是其中一個於去年投靠「母親的抉擇」的少女。

她當時的情況十分絕望,無家可歸的她既孤單又憤怒。她沒有家庭、親友或任何社區的支持,而且懷著六個月的身孕。起初,她抗拒接受我們的關懷,但經過舍監細心聆聽她的故事及聽過其他少女分享,她慢慢放下了心房。在這裡,她認識了一眾好友、了解她的不同選擇,並鼓起勇氣決定成為一名媽媽。得到大家的鼓勵,她積極與母親修補關係,並參加家長培訓及各種課程,學習照顧自己及兒子。在K努力完成學業期間,「母親的抉擇」找到了一個志願家庭為她的兒子提供關愛的短暫照顧,直至K能為兒子提供一個安穩的家為止。

K已準備好面對她的未來,以及為她的兒子提供一個關愛的家。但她的故事可能截然不同。憑著她的韌力和勇氣,以及「母親的抉擇」的關愛與支援,她不但擁有自己的家庭,還有朋友、啟蒙導師及教師,以及一個擁有很多叔叔和姨姨的可愛、肥肥白白的兒子。