Despite the cosmopolitan image of Hong Kong, one in five children in our city lives in poverty, and tens of thousands of children are at risk for neglect, abuse, and abandonment.

Children who are at risk are often referred to the residential child care system. In Hong Kong, the “system” is compromised institutions, foster care, and small group homes. In 2015, there were almost 4,000 children living without families in Hong Kong. On any given day, at least 400-600 more children are on a waitlist, waiting an average of 31 months to get into the residential care system, while still living in unsafe environments or in hospital.

At Mother’s Choice, we are a champion for children and a voice for them to be in a family. Our goal is to see every child in a safe, loving, and permanent family, and work hard to see children either reunited with their birth family, or when that is not possible, to join an adoptive family.

Refer a child to Mother’s Choice

Referrals should be made by a registered social worker.
Download the fact sheet >>

Can you help us care for a child without a family?

Learn more about Fostering

Ways we serve children

We believe that we have a responsibility to provide quality, nurturing care to our children, and to fight for every child to be in a family as soon as possible.

What are “Residential Child Care Services”?

Residential Child Care Services (RCCS) are provided for children and young persons under the age of 21 who cannot be adequately cared for by their families for various reasons such as behavioral, emotional or relationship problems, child abuse, or family crises arising from illness, death or desertion. Foster care services, small group homes, residential crèches, residential child centers, boys’/girls’ homes and hostels are all examples of Residential Child Care Services.

We provide loving, temporary care to children without families in two ways:

Our Child Care Home on 5 Bowen Road is a temporary home for up to 32 babies between the ages of 0-3 in our “Baby Care” program and up to 12 babies or children (0-6 years old) with special needs in our “Wee Care” program. Our team of licensed childcare workers and medical professionals provide individualized early intervention services to help each child flourish and reach their full potential. Our home strives to provide safe, loving and individualized care as close as possible to a family environment.
Foster care provides a temporary family setting and care to children under 18 years of age whose parents cannot adequately take care of them so that they may continue to enjoy family life until they are able to reach “permanency”, be it by re-uniting with their birth family, joining an adoptive family or living independently. The benefit of a family setting in foster care is known to lead to better outcomes for children than those living in residential institutions.

Our Approach

No matter whether children live in our Child Care Home or stay with our foster families, our approach is characterized by:

1

Loving Care
We support those who care for the children in our care. This includes our staff, our team of over 450 volunteers, and our foster families. We make sure that every child is able to receive individual, loving care from trusted adults.

2

Early Intervention Therapy
The first few months and years of a child’s life are critical to their future development. Our multi-disciplinary team of occupational, speech, and physio-therapists work together to develop an individualized care plan to encourage each child to reach his full potential.

3

Commitment to Permanency
Every child deserves a family to call his own, and we fight for every child to join their permanent family as soon as possible, whether that means reuniting with their birth family or joining an adoptive family.

Our hope is that no child in Hong Kong waits for a family. We are working towards a day when no child needs to spend time in an institution, not even Mother’s Choice.

Gary Stephens, Co-Founder of Mother’s Choice

在香港,每五個孩子就有一個生活在貧困中,成千上萬的兒童有遭受疏忽照顧,虐待和遺棄的風險。身處於危險環境中的兒童通常會被轉介至兒童住宿服務。在服務制度下,這些孩子有的住在院舍、寄養家庭或兒童之家。2015年,香港有接近四千個孩子沒有家庭照顧。香港長期都最少還有四至六百個孩子在輪候名單上,平均輪候31個月。在輪候期間,他們仍要住在不安全的環境或醫院裡。

「母親的抉擇」是孩子的擁護者,我們積極爭取每個孩子都應該擁有一個家。我們的目標是看見每個孩子都能在一個安全、關愛的永久家庭中成長,盡力確保每個孩子都能盡快與原生父母團聚或加入領養家庭。

你可以幫助我們照顧沒有家庭的孩子嗎?

了解寄養服務

轉介兒童給至「母親的抉擇」!

轉介個案需由註冊社工安排。

如有查詢,請致電 2313 5648 聯絡我們。

我們如何服務兒童

我們相信我們有責任為孩子提供最高質素的照顧,並爭取每個孩子都擁有一個家。

 

甚麼是「兒童住宿照顧服務」?

兒童住宿照顧服務適用於21歲以下的兒童和青少年,因其家庭及個人需要,例如行為、情緒或人際關係問題、受虐待,或家人因疾病、死亡或遺棄引致的家庭危機而無法妥善照顧他們。寄養服務、兒童之家、留宿育嬰園、留宿幼兒中心、男/女童院及男/女童宿舍均為兒童住宿照顧服務的例子。

 

我們透過兩個方法為沒有家庭的孩子提供關愛的暫時性照顧:

我們位於寶雲道5號的幼兒之家可提供暫時性照顧服務,嬰兒組可以容納32位嬰孩,而特殊幼兒組則可容納12位有特殊需要的兒童。我們專業的幼兒工作員及專業團隊會提供具針對性的早期介入服務,讓孩子能得到充分發展潛能及健康成長的機會。我們致力提供安全、關愛及具針對性的照顧,盡可能貼近家庭照顧的環境。
寄養服務為18歲以下且父母未能提供足夠照顧的兒童提供暫時性的家庭模式照顧服務,讓他們繼續享受家庭生活,直至達成長遠福利計劃:例如與原生家庭團聚、加入領養家庭或獨立生活。眾所周知,寄養服務以家庭模式照顧,比院舍照顧對兒童有更多裨益。

我們的方法

不論是住在幼兒之家還是住在寄養家庭的孩子,我們採取的方法同樣有以下特點:

1

關愛照顧
我們支援每個照顧孩子的人,包括我們的員工、超過450名的義工團隊及我們的寄養家庭。我們確保每個孩子都得到可信賴的成人關心及照顧。

2

早期介入治療
幼兒期對於一個孩子將來的發展十分關鍵。我們不同範疇的團隊包括職業治療師、語言治療師及物理治療師,合力為每個孩子訂立個人化的護理療程,鼓勵他們充分發展潛能。

3

倡議永久
每個孩子都應擁有屬於自己的家。我們致力為他們爭取盡早加入一個永久家庭,包括與親生家庭團聚或加入領養家庭。

我們希望香港再沒有孩子需要等待家庭。我們一直努力,希望終有一天沒有孩子需要住在任何院舍中生活,即使是「母親的抉擇」

Gary Stephens,「母親的抉擇」聯合創辦人